City of Waterloo strengthens fireworks ban


Waterloo –

The City of Waterloo is updating its fireworks ban, limiting their use to one day before and after specific holidays.

Under the previous regulation, which had not been updated since 2006, fireworks were allowed for seven days before and after several major holidays, including Victoria Day, Canada Day, New Years. lunar and Diwali.

At a city council meeting on Monday, council voted unanimously to approve a proposal that limits the use of fireworks to a certain public holiday day and bans fireworks after 11 p.m.

Fireworks will also not be allowed if the fire chief declares the city a restricted fire zone.

Waterloo officials said they decided to update the bylaw after receiving an influx of fireworks complaints after this year’s Victoria Day long weekend.

“We decided to do a municipal analysis, look at what other municipalities are doing and make housekeeping changes to the bylaw,” said Nicole Papke, director of municipal law enforcement at Waterloo.

The city will now undertake an education initiative as enforcement of the fireworks by-law can be a challenge.

“The communications plan for the future is to educate all of our neighborhood groups about being a good neighbor when it comes to family fireworks,” Papke said. “While they are great fun for people, they can create challenges for a lot of animals and people in general.”


In the city of Kitchener, fireworks are permitted on private property on Victoria Day, Canada Day and Diwali, as well as the days before and after these holidays.

Cambridge allows fireworks on the same public holidays, as well as within two days of the holiday in inclement weather.

The Guelph settlement includes the eve of Victoria Day, Canada Day and Diwali, as well as these holidays themselves. The Guelph Fire Department may also approve fireworks for other religious events.

Source link


Leave A Reply